blogging, Movies

Day 6: A film that I put on when I am sad (@Cineworld)

I’ve really had to fight the urge to go Disney on this one as I don’t want to seem too predictable. However, no one can watch a Disney film and not feel a little warmth in their heart.

No, I’m going to go old school with this one.

The film I put on when I’m feeling sad is…

Labyrinth!

Labyrinth 30th anniversary: 15 things you may not know about the ...

Now, funnily enough, I was not a fan of this film when I was younger. I had a neighbour (who was in the same class as me at school) who had a knack for convincing me to watch scary films when I was between 8 and 11 years old. She would always say, “it’s not scary! I watched it the other day!” After the first three times I was duped, I really should have learnt my lesson.

So, on the day my friend suggested watching Labyrinth, I should have known what to expect. I knew I was going to be scared… what I didn’t anticipate was being terrified!! I was absolutely petrified of David Bowie as Jareth, The Goblin King.

Labyrinth in Redcliffe Caves - Bristol Film Festival Spring 2020

I remember going home after watching the entire movie and trying to keep my cool and then went upstairs to my room where I sat on the bed and sobbed my little heart out. I could not get Jareth out of my mind and thought the goblins were going to get me. My Mom even had to comfort me, I was that bothered by it all.

Twenty years later, I decided enough was enough and watched Labyrinth again.

Well, goodness me, I just absolutely fell in love with it. Why on earth was I so scared?? Jareth was actually pretty sexy!!

The whole movie is just whimsical and fun. This is now definitely one that I put on when I’m feeling sad.

Jim Henson's 1986 Film 'Labyrinth,' Starring David Bowie and ...

My favourite part is definitely the masquerade ball scene. The stolen glances between Jareth and Sarah and how, in her psyche, she is searching for him in that crowd of strangers. But then… she remembers the line from the play she was reading at the start!

You have no power over me!

And, with that, the spell is broken.

Being a teenager, everything feels dramatic and romantic. Even as an adult, it’s so easy to relate to Sarah and the fantasy world she conjures up to make her life seem so much more exciting than it is.

Loula Bella xoxo

Leave a comment